Executive Committee And Council Members


The ICHS is governed by a Council and Executive Committee of the Council who are voted into office by the membership.
Executive Committee of the Council
  • Murat Akova, President, Turkey
  • Roy F. Chemaly, President Elect, USA
  • Malgorzata K. Mikulska, Vice President, Italy
  • Hans H. Hirsch, Past President, Switzerland
  • Monica Slavin, Treasurer, Australia
International Council
  • Robin Avery, USA
  • Christine Marie Durand, USA (Incoming April, 2024)
  • Michael G Ison, USA
  • Thomas Lehrnbecher, Germany
  • Marisa H. Miceli, USA
  • Nicolas J. Müller, Switzerland (Incoming April, 2024)
  • Steven Pergam, USA
  • Michelle K. Yong, Australia

Executive Committee and Council Members:

Executive Committee of the Council
Murat Akova, MD
  • President, ICHS
  • Professor of Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases Department
  • Hacettepe University School of Medicine,
    Ankara, Turkey
  • Dr. Akova's ORCID
Roy F. Chemaly, MD
  • Vice President, ICHS
  • Professor of Medicine, Infectious Diseases
  • The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center,
    Houston, Texas USA
  • Dr. Chemaly's ORCID
Malgorzata K. Mikulska, MD, PhD
  • Associate Professor
  • Division of Infectious Diseases
  • University of Genova,
    Genova, Italy
  • Dr. Mikulska's ORCID
Hans H. Hirsch, MD
  • Past President, ICHS
  • Professor, FMH Infectious Diseases, FMH Internal Medicine, FAMH
  • Medical Microbiology
  • University of Basel,
    Basel, Switzerland
  • Dr. Hirsch's ORCID
Monica Slavin, MD
  • Treasurer, ICHS
  • Professor of Medicine
  • The University of Melbourne,
    Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr. Slavin's ORCID
International Council
Robin Avery, MD
  • Professor of Medicine
  • Division of Infectious Diseases at Johns Hopkins,
    Baltimore, Maryland USA
  • Dr. Avery's ORCID and biosketch
Christine Marie Durand, MD
  • (Incoming April, 2024)
  • Associate Professor of Medicine
  • The Johns Hopkins Hospital,
    Baltimore, Maryland USA
  • Dr. Durand’s ORCID
Michael G. Ison, MD, MS
  • Chief, Respiratory Diseases Branch
  • Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (DMID/NIAID/NIH)
  • Rockville, Maryland United States
  • Dr. Ison's ORCID and biosketch
Thomas Lehrnbecher, MD
  • Professor of Pediatrics
  • Pediatric Hematologist and Oncologist
  • Johann Wolfgang Goethe University,
    Frankfurt, Germany
  • Dr. Lehrnbecher's ORCID
Marisa H. Miceli, MD
  • Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
  • University of Michigan Medical School,
    Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
  • Dr. Miceli's Biosketch
Nicolas J. Müller, MD
  • (Incoming April, 2024)
  • Senior staff physician, Head of transplant center
  • University Hospital Zurich
  • Division of Infectious Diseases and Hospital Epidemiology,
    Zurich, Switzerland
  • Dr. Müller’s ORCID
Steven Pergam, MD, MPH
  • Associate Professor
  • Department of Medicine
  • University of Washington
  • Associate Member in Clinical Research Division and Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center,
    Seattle, Washington, USA
  • Dr. Pergam's ORCID
Michelle K. Yong, MBBS, FRACP, MPH, PhD
  • Infectious Diseases Physician
  • University of Melbourne,
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre,
    Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr. Yong's ORCID
Executive Director
Beth Kassalen